My 5-Day Cleanse & Meal Diary

Hi there,

as a New Year resolution to have a healthier lifestyle I decided to keep my promises. The best way to a fresh start of the New Year is a cleanse or detoxification of the body. Usually, I don’t eat a lot of meat or foods rich in fat or carbohydrates but I decided it would be good for my body to eat even healthier food. I have known the juicing cleanse for a few years but for me I thought it might be too drastic as I have a sensitive stomach. Also according to mayoclinic and other experts, drinking juices only is not that healthy but they should serve as a complement to a clean eating diet. And that’s what I did.. I ate for 5 days healthy food combining juices/smoothies with as little processed food as possible.

There were ups and downs in the cleanse, moments which I felt energised, others I felt really tired and angry. However, there were definitely more advantages to it. I feel a lot healthier and my skin is cleaner and smoother. It was an interesting experience to eat food which previously I haven’t incorporated in my diet such as avocado and celery. I learned a lot of the health benefits of certain foods and made interesting recipes I haven’t tried before. Some of the juices and meals were really delicious and I believe I will continue to eat them after this cleanse. I tried to make the most of my cleanse so during the 5 days I took baths, used the steam bath and infrared sauna, to get rid of the toxins. Also, I had a good nights sleep (8-10 hours) and made regular but moderate exercises (45 minutes) every day. Now, I feel healthier and full of energy, exactly what we need for the start of the new year. Throughout the cleansing process, I wrote down exactly what I ate so I decided to share with you my 5 day meal plan.

Day 1 

Breakfast : Rice and soy milk with muesli

Lunch: Omelette with cherry tomatoes, basil, oregano

IMG_2028

Dinner: Whole-grain spaghetti with cherry tomatoes, garlic, basil

(detox water with lime, lemon, blueberry)

Snack: Kiwi

Day 2 

Breakfast: 3 ingredient banana pancakes with eggs, bananas, baking powder

Lunch: Whole-wheat bread with cottage cheese, avocado, tomatoes and basil

IMG_1913

Dinner: Juice with cucumber, celery, apple, ginger, lemon

Snack: Raw nut mix (almonds)

Day 3

Breakfast: Smoothie with mango and pomegranate

IMG_1943

Lunch: Smoothie with 2 bananas, blueberry’s, oats, rice and soy milk, 1 1/2 honey

Dinner: Quinoa vegan meatballs 

Snack: Grapefruit

Day 4

Breakfast: Yoghurt with blueberries, oats, muesli, honeyIMG_2017

Lunch: 2 eggs with low-fat yoghurt, garlic and cayenne pepper, side kidney beans

Dinner: Stuffed Zucchini 

Snack: Orange/Grapefruit/Lemon juice

Day 5

Breakfast: Rice and soy milk, oats, muesli

Lunch : Sweet Potato Gnocchi with ricotta and herbs

Dinner: Spinach and avocado saladIMG_2058

Snack: 2 pieces dark chocolate

Infused water with lemon, blueberries and pomegranate

Have you ever tried cleansing? If you have what was your experience? If not, would you try it?

Leave your stories and experiences in the comments below. I would love to hear what you have to say. 🙂
Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

