What I Ate Today | Detox Day

Hello beauties,

as the New Year started I decide to give my body some time to detox and energy boost through healthy and nutritious food. It is a three-day process for me when I try eating as little as processed food as I can. A long term detox for me is limiting my sugar intake as well as cutting-off fizzy drinks for several months. I am doing all this in order to make my body feel healthier, boost my immune system, clear my skin, as well as feel more energized, full with strength for the new semester. The recipes that I choose are suitable for vegetarians and vegans.

Breakfast

Strawberry Banana Oat Smoothie (1 portion)

img_6003

I started out my day with a smoothie with strawberries, bananas, and oats. I love smoothies as they are really easy to make and are very delicious. The one that I made is very nutritious and filling with natural sugars from the fruits so I didn’t need to add any additional sweeteners. I mixed the smoothie with a cup of Almond & Coconut milk, which is very refreshing and delicious. This mix of coconut and almond is also a very healthy substitute to regular milk as it nutrient rich, support the immune system, and are great for weight loss as they offer healthy fats that fill you up. To strengthen the coconut taste, I even added some organic grated coconut. I added also some oats by Quaker to make the smoothie even more filling so I don’t feel hungry.

You will need:

1 banana

1 cup of frozen strawberries (even better if they are fresh)

1 cup of Coconut & Almond Mix

3 tbsp oats

2 tbsp organic grated coconut

Preparation:

Blend for 30-40 seconds on medium speed.

Lunch

Cherry Tomato Zoodles (1 portion, 15 minutes)

img_6041-min

I have been wanting to try zoodles (zucchini noodles) for a long time as they are a very healthy substitute to regular pasta and seemed very delicious but I didn’t have a zucchini splicer so I am happy I final got one. It is by OXO Softworks Hand-Held Spiralizer that I bought from Target but it a similar one is also available on Amazon, for Bulgarians try this one. This spiralizer is very easy to use and is suitable for veggies such as zucchini, potatoes, and carrots.

You Will Need:

1 zucchini

1 1/2 cup of cherry tomatoes

4-5 leafs of green and red basil

3 cloves of garlic

1/2 tbsp salt

1/2 tbsp oregano

1/2 tbsp pepper

1/4 tbsp crushed red pepper 

Preparation:img_6123-min

1) For the zoodles, spiralize the zucchini.

2) Afterwards, put the spiralized zucchini into a strainer and add a pinch of salt and let them sit so the liquid can drain from them.IMG_6124-min.JPG3) In the mean time, put some olive oil into a sauté pan, chop the garlic, and cut the cherry tomatoes. Add the garlic into the pan and let it cook for some minutes on a high temperature but not more so it doesn’t burn. After that add the crushed red pepper and mix it with the garlic for 30 seconds. 

4) Reduce the heat to medium and after that add the chopped cherry tomatoes and several leafs of green and red basil. Add oregano, salt, and pepper. Mix everything and let everything cook for about 7 minutes. 

5) While the tomato sauce is cooking, put the zucchini on top of a paper towel in order to get all the excess moisture.

6) Once the tomatoes have cooked for 7 minutes, increase the heat to high, and add the spiralized zucchini and let them cook for about 2 minutes, mixing often.

Snack

Roobar Heart of Gold Limited Edition

img_6019-min

For a healthy afternoon snack I ate a bar from the limited edition Winter box by Roobar. I ordered this box specifically for this detox as it is organic, raw, vegan, and gluten free. Also, it has a beautiful design with stunning golden letters. I don’t usually eat such bars as I am hesitant about their taste but this one is really good and I enjoy it a lot. It is the first bar the they created covered in chocolate. It contains also mango, banana, orange oil, orange peel, cinnamon, cashew. The mix between dark chocolate and orange oil is very suitable for the winter time.

Dinner (4 portions-half a potato each person, 30-45 minutes) from MinimalistBaker

Mediterranean Baked Sweet PotatoesIMG_6120.JPG

For dinner, I decided to do a recipe, which is very creative and delicious – Mediterranean Baked Sweet Potatoes. This winter I tried for the first time baked sweet potatoes and I really liked them so I decided one of my meals during the detox to include them. They are healthy substitute to potatoes as they are rich in vitamins (A, B6, C, D) and are a great source of magnesium and potassium. The chickpeas in the recipe are also a great addition as they have numerous health benefits as they are rich in numerous vitamins and minerals, high in protein, great source of iron, and are high in fiber. 

You Will Need: 

2 sweet potatoes

1 can chickpeas (140gr)

1/2 tbsp each (cumin, coriander, cinnamon, red pepper, salt)

For Garlic and Herb Sauce:

1/4 cup hummus (if you are not vegan, or do not like hummus, or couldn’t find it in store, you can use plain yoghurt)

1 tbsp dill

3 cloves garlic, minced

1 tbsp lemon juice

For Topping:

1/4 cup cherry tomatoes

1/4 cup chopped parsley

2 tbsp lemon juice

pinch of salt

Preparation:

  1. Preheat the oven to 150 degrees Celsius and place a baking sheet on a baking tray. Rinse and scrub the sweet potatoes and after that cut them in half (in order to bake faster). Rub them with a bit of olive oil and a pinch of salt, and place them face down on the baking sheet.
  2. Rinse and drain the chickpeas and mix them with a bit of olive oil and the spices. Place them on the same baking sheet as the sweet potatoes and cook them for 30 minutes.IMG_6117-min.JPG
  3. While the sweet potatoes and chickpeas are roasting, prepare the sauce by mixing all the ingredients for it together. Taste it and adjust the seasoning if needed.
  4. Prepare the topping, by mixing the tomatoes, parsley, lemon juice, and salt. Set aside to marinade.img_6118-min
  5. Occasionally check the potatoes with a fork to see if they are tender and if they are and the chichpeas are golden brown, remove the tray from the oven.
  6. Flip the potatoes and smash the insides a little bit. Add the chickpeas, topping, and finish of with the sauce. 

What did you eat today? Comment below. 🙂

This post is part of the monthly link up party Our Growing Edge. This event aims to connect our-growing-edge-badge.jpgfood bloggers and inspire us to try new things. This month is hosted by Terri at Food Meanderings.

4 thoughts on “What I Ate Today | Detox Day

  1. I’ve only recently gotten into zoodles and I can say I love them. Such an affordable, easily portioned and guilt-free way to eat noodles.

    This post would make a great addition to Our Growing Edge, a link up just for new food adventures. It’s a fun way to share your new food experiences and flavours with other foodies and your post and link will be published in the group round up. This month’s theme is HEALTHY STARTS including breakfast ideas or new healthy food habits for the start of 2017.

    More info including how to submit your link here: http://bunnyeatsdesign.com/our-growing-edge/

    p.s. your baked potatoes look amazing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey 🙂 Thank you for the kind words. That sounds amazing, thanks for the opportunity. I would love to participate but I have one question: so we should include the phrase, logo, and links but who is the host that I link to? I didn’t get that part. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

